Interesting posts, weekend of 10/4

10/04/2009 at 3:13 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Dear internet, this week was slightly better for me than the previous one. I’ve been craving retro video games and even bought a Game Boy Advance SP because my regular GBA doesn’t have a backlight & the screen is kinda beat up. I suppose I could just use an emulator but it’s not the same…

On to the weekly blog link roundup. Posts I found of particular interest for some arbitrary reason. Share links if’n you got’em.

There was a LOT of discussion on Roman Polanski in the feminist blogosphere, and I do not have anything original to add. If you don’t understand what’s going on and Why It Is A Big Deal (it is,) start with these but Trigger Warning! re: sexual assault.

Getting Over It – Lauren, a sexual assault survivor, talks about how the Polanski case has triggered old memories and how hard it is to just “Get over it.” It doesn’t always work that way.

Her Reasons Are Not Yours – You may’ve heard that Samantha Gailey does not wish to pursue the Polanski case any further. Melissa, herself a survivor, talks about justice denied after so many years.

The Polanski “morals issue” – Just in case you had any doubts about consent in this case, it gets pretty graphic.

Roman Polanski As Described By Grand Jury Testimony – Marcella reviews grand jury testimony from the original case decades ago, and talks about what some of the details mean.

A case of morals – just in case you want to actively boycott Polanski supporters, Fugitivus brings us a long list of who to avoid!

And finally, Polanski, Polanski, Polanski – Kate Harding’s own weekly blog link roundup, just in case the ones I’ve posted here haven’t convinced you.

What a week.

Non-Polanski posts of interest from around the feminist blogosphere –

Don’t confuse the ladies during sex by talking! – Absolutely terrible advice from Esquire magazine.

Trunk Tweets a Miscarriage – and is told by commenters exactly how she’s supposed to feel about having one. What? I did not realize there was a right and wrong way to go about having a miscarriage…

Consumer teledildonics update: HighJoy alive, Sinulator dead; plus, Virtual Sex Machine and RealTouch – Because I am still fascinated by teledildonics.

After the Red Pill – actually my experience coming out as feminist to friends & co-workers hasn’t been anything at all like this, but I usually seem to be the exception to all rules, so this account from Shakesville is probably a more common occurrence…

Another type of woman Twisty Faster hates! – Holly of The Pervocracy picked apart some posts and comments made over at I Blame the Patriarchy this week. Posts about BDSM & female domination,which Holly address here.

Boob Month is Here – I am agreeing 100% with everything in this post. Especially this line –

I am sick to death of the pinkification of the grocery store aisles. I’m probably in the minority but I don’t think we can shop or 5K our way to a cancer-free world, and I am suspicious of companies that repackage their goods at this time of year. I’m also not fond of selling “the cause” using sex.

YES. It’s a big deal, it’s a health deal, yes it’s a threat; now is there any better way, maybe even a more holistic way we can go about finding treatments, preventions & cures? Is there any way we can do that without pressing this survivor/fighter thing which implies that if you do not survive, you were not a real fighter?

The Do’s and Don’ts of Being a Good Ally – 10 simple guidelines to not completely messing up a conversation that isn’t all about you. Which yes even I need to keep in mind.

What do bathroom signs tell us about society and gender? – Weird pictures of weird bathroom signs that are… ambiguously binary. Apparently women are a whole pizza? Or something? Women are Pac-Man and men are… Triangles?

I’m sure there’s more…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment


Entries and comments feeds.