Blog note

06/20/2010 at 12:23 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

Uh oh, a blog note! That can only mean one thing! Some kind of delay in posting or a hiatus or vacation or something!

Luckily (or unluckily if you dislike me,) I’m not quite burned out yet, so no extended hiatus is planned. I will, however, likely need to skip a new content post this week. There will be no blog link roundup for at least one more week.

My reason for the delay in new content is, I was on a week-long break with my LDR boyfriend and I was having so much fun I never had a chance to sit down and write.

I had semi-mentioned my break and that there would be no blog link roundups for awhile via my Twitter feed.

But if you do not follow the Twitter, then you may not be aware that I was on break at all, because earlier this week I posted the conclusion of our two-part series on statistics and FSD. I was able to get this post up in a timely manner, because I wrote it up ahead of time. However the rest of my draft posts are unsatisfactory, so I need time to work on them and create new ones.

Then when I got back home from the break I had to unpack and catch up with work & home events and I wanted to update some of my computer software before I started writing.

Coincidentally my break just happened to intersect with a week of flibanserin-related posts around the blogosphere… which I may or may not link to. I’m leaning against linking to the feminist discussions of flibanserin and the FDA’s hearings on flibanserin, because almost all of the posts I saw were predictably distressing. Chances are if you have FSD or more specifically FSAD or HSDD and you’re reading this blog, you probably don’t need me to tell you the exact trajectory that these discussions took. You don’t need me to explain it to you, because you are already aware of the typical arguments against a medical option for FSD or against FSD as a valid thing in general. You’re probably also aware of the fact that many of these discussions do not center women with FSD or HSDD, which is ironic since that is the topic of interest. Should you choose to seek such discussions out on your own, I advise against delving too deeply into the comment sections.

Just reading these flibanserin discussions was exhausting and incredibly stressful so that is also partly why I cannot talk too much in detail about it. In this case my need for self-preservation is greater than my need to educate. See also this post by Abby Jean if you do not understand what I’m talking about.

I think it’s really just as well that I was on break for most of the week of flibanserin posts, because being with my partner allowed me to unplug from the internet and tune everything out. It was too much to bear otherwise. And that is one of the many reasons that I love my partner – because he keeps me going.

Fortunately, as I had hoped, this trip did yield some interesting new experiences! Not all of my fantasies came true but we really got a lot done – and some of what we did is relevant to this blog. For (TMI!) example! I still have a bartholin’s cyst, which pumps out more fluid when I spend a lot of time being aroused. The fluid doesn’t drain out well, so it swells up and can become uncomfortable. But we bought a sitz bath early on during the break and I used it about once or twice per day. Much to my surprise and delight, this did and excellent job of managing the size of the cyst, and so I felt quite comfortable for the duration of the trip. I don’t know exactly how it works, but sitz baths may be a viable treatment for me at least until I can get the cyst addressed with a long-term solution, which will require an experienced gynecologist and recovery time.

So the plan for the next few weeks is:

  • Catch up with RSS feeder and compile a blog link roundup
  • Make new content posts – topics may be on the lighter side for awhile until I get re-oriented.
    • For example I may post reviews of some adult toy stores my partner and I visited while on break. If I think these posts will be NSFW I will place the details behind a wordpress cut.
    • I may also want to post a review of one of the sex toys I bought to use as a new dilator. If I can just figure out how to use it…! I may have bitten off more than I can chew here. Eyes bigger than my vag, or something.
    • Still need to post some book reviews
  • Need to send some e-mails out that may prove fruitful down the line

If you are interested in guest posting in the mean time, you may want to leave a comment here or on one of the previous blog link roundups. Remember, the criteria at the time is, if you think you would fit in here, you probably would. That may be subject to change in the future but we’ll see how it goes from there.

You may also be interested in following the Twitter feed, because I want to try tweeting more frequently at least until I get new content rolling. Twitter needs more posts about vulvodynia, vaginismus, and FSD broadly! Posts that aren’t spam! Be warned though; Twitter, I think, is becoming my “Angry space.” I find that due to the immediate yet restrictive nature of the medium, I tend to screen whatever’s on my mind much less there than on this blog.

That’s all I’ve got for you at this time. Stay tuned, we shall return to our regularly scheduled vagina blogging shortly.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] I had mentioned in the Blog Note, there were some posts around the feminist blogosphere regarding the FDA’s hearings of […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

