Interesting posts, weekend of 5/23

05/23/2010 at 5:47 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Dear internet, not too much to share this week, it was a quiet work week for me. I watched some cartoon seasons on DVD thanks to NetFlix. I don’t usually re-watch movies with the director’s commentary on but this time I made an exception. Picked up Picross for the Nintendo DS again and finished up the last levels in Normal mode. I’m gearing up for Picross 3-D. I don’t think I’m going to buy a new Nintendo DS or DSi though – the whole point of the DS is to be small enough to be portable, not make it bigger! Besides, the DSi lost backwards compatibility with regular Game Boy Advance games. Which I suppose is a moot point for me since I have two GBAs… I really need to get on the ball and play some of the original Game Boy games I have in the queue before the backup battery system in them stops working.

Don’t forget, I’m also on Twitter now. I think I’m starting to get the hang of Twitter now.

Friendly reminder: I am looking for Guest Posters. I want to hear more perspectives on the themes dealt with here at Feminists with Female Sexual Dysfunction. Because I am dealing with such a sensitive topic, I don’t think I can actively recruit new posters, since if I went onto someone else’s blog and said something like, “Hey u wanna write a post about your sexual health and/or feminism on a public forum?!” that would probably be very invasive. For this reason, Guest Posters requesting to remain anonymous will also be taken seriously.
At this time, criteria for inclusion is, “If you think you would fit in here, you probably would.” This may be subject to change but for now we’ll try that & see how it goes.
In an attempt to preemptively fight spam and rude comments, this blog’s email is private. Please leave a comment on this post if you want to write something. I’ll screen comments so you can remain anonymous if you want. That way I’ll have your email and we can collaborate.
Have something you’ve been working on? Send it my way.
Comments made by new e-mail addresses here are auto-screened before going live, so if you want to stay anon use an e-mail address that you haven’t used here before.

Now then, on with the weekly blog link roundup. Posts I found interesting over the last week. Share links if’n you got’em.

Cushions – a review of some padded seating options designed for folks with pelvic  pain.

The Overlapping Conditions Alliance Launches the ‘Campaign to End Chronic Pain in Women’ on Capitol Hill, to Fight Discrimination Against Women in U.S – On May 19, the Overlapping Conditions Alliance released a report on chronic pain in the US and a representative from Rep. Tammy Baldwin’s office went to Washington D.C. to speak out about chronic pain conditions. The OCA deals with many conditions that effect women, like vulvodynia, interstitial cystitis, chronic fatigue syndrome, and more. You can learn more at their website. Jeanne pointed me out to this news bit, and she blogged a about it too in When Rest Is Just Not Optional.

No Longer Lost? – So I heard Lost is finally ending tonight, and I couldn’t be happier. I never got into that show, I tried to watch one episode this season and it was just a bunch of people talking. I’m hoping I’ll just have to endure a few days of farewell posts on the blogosphere, and then let us never speak of it again.

Monday the 17th was the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia. EU leaders mark the International Day Against Homophobia And Transphobia has a lot of links. Not even a week later, this story broke out, but was misreported on various news outlets. I saw Yahoo! News had referred to this couple as gay, but that’s not accurate since one partner identifies as a woman. Malawi: Couple sentenced to 14 years in prison with hard labour for getting engaged. Also, Save Kiana Firouz! – Firouz is a lesbian activist seeking safety in England. If she is deported home, she faces death in Iran.

Holly at the Pervocracy wrote up a 7-part series analyzing some kind of MRA or PUA site. Part 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7. I enjoyed what she did with this series, it has just the right balance of seriousness and snark. Must have taken a lot out of her though, slogging through the whole thing like that. You might want to skip the comments on this one.

The oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico is still spilling, much worse than initial estimates. Oil Spill Update, and Big Oil. Meanwhile, Amnesty ad on Shell pulled from the FT – an advertisement critical of Shell Oil was not allowed to run in the Financial Times. Meanwhile, Crude Violations: Oil, Human Rights, and Environmental Devastation in Nigeria – About the exploitation of Nigerians and their country.

RacIsm – Like Lisa, I too am steeped in white privilege, I know it. Lisa included several links to news articles demonstrating racism in the USA. We’re not post-racial yet. Need more proof? Consider the following: Alabama: Geometry teacher uses assassinating Obama as example to teach angles to students, AC360: Kids’ test answers on race brings mother to tears; we’ve got a long way to go, They’re really this hardcore, or Lebanese immigrant wins Miss USA, right wingers lose it. With that last one, yes we can critique beauty pageants from a feminist perspective, but we can also look at reactions to the winner of the contest this year.

Rand Paul (Son of Ron Paul) won the Republican nomination in Kentucky this week. He ran on a Tea Party platform and has made his political views clear, Tea Party Member Rand Paul Wants to Abolish The Americans With Disabilities Act, and Rand Paul and Civil Rights.

Nun excommunicated for approving life-saving abortion – In Arizona, a pregnant woman was very likely to die without an abortion. She went to a Catholic hospital, and her abortion was approved. Now one of the nuns involved in the decision has been demoted. This was followed up over at Feministe with an existential post, That’s some morality you’ve got there.

Insufficient Evidence – [Trigger warning] A few years ago, a rape case came to a distressing conclusion, as Cara explains the background. But she recently found out that a lot of the forensic evidence was never even tested, at the district attorney’s orders. Keep in mind – charges weren’t filed because of a lack of forensic evidence. Which was available the whole time.
Meanwhile, England and Wales Move to Grant Anonymity to Rape Defendants – [Trigger warning] – Rape victims are granted anonymity in the US an England (not always strictly enforced though, which has dangerous consequences for those going forward with charges of rape) and now England is considering granting the same protection to defendants on rape trials.

Some posts about advertising; what’s okay and what’s not: Vintage Ads: Domestic Tropes Then and Now and “Cougars” out, “Sugardaddies” in – I guess because nobody wants to think about older women having sex with young men.

Zombie Cow’s “Privates”: sex ed or misogyny? – Oh hey look a video game about sex education, that sounds totally fun, I like video games so that’s right up my alley rig–oooo wait a minute… wait… What’s all this then? Oooo, that’s not exactly what I had in mind… Both the game and the marketing need improvement.

Swinging to Freedom: Group Sex in China Major No-No. – I was not aware that China had such big taboos on kinky sex practices. I mean, orgies are legal in California.

SEXIST BEATDOWN: For Thee, Fair Maiden, I Would Punch A Thousand Faces Edition – Something that would likely make one of my semi-friends head explode, since he fancies himself as very Chivalrous. We’re not very close friends, I just like to watch his Facebook feed.

I’m sure there’s more…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

