New V book arrival

06/13/2009 at 2:54 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Look what I just got!

I know you’re all jealous now.
(Probably not jealous of my nails though – I could really use a manicure.)

Female Sexual Pain Disorders: Evaluation and Management. You can get a feel for what’s going on in here thanks to Google Books. Careful, some of the pages available for preview are not work safe.

I know I probably don’t need it. I’m a patient, not a doctor. I’m not in school anymore. Why am I buying a $120+ text book even though I am not in school? This has nothing to do with my major. This has nothing to do continuing education to further my career. This probably isn’t an inherently feminist book.

Yet I have a thing about collecting books that deal with sexual pain, particularly vulvodynia & related conditions. I have spent quite a pretty penny on out-of-print books before, just because they were on the NVA reading list. I want to know more. I want to know what’s available in the media. I want to know what doctors know. I want to know what regular people can know. I want to know what sources are being cited, so that I can find & then use those sources myself. God forbid if something new happens to me, I don’t want to be taken by surprise.

I haven’t read the whole thing yet so I cant give in-depth review or give any hints as to whether or not it would be of use to laypersons.

My initial impressions:

  • The book has many photos & illustrations, yet most of the information is written down. Still text-heavy.
  • I recognize a lot of the authors’ names. I’ve seen these doctors names get mentioned on the support communities & some have written other books. Yet some conspicuous doctors are missing. I wonder why that is?
  • There are a lot of chapters. Lots of ground to cover, including but not limited to:
    • Irritatable bowel syndrom (IBS)
    • Interstitial cystitis (IC)
    • Endometriosis
    • Hormones
    • Pudendal Neuralgia
    • Vaginismus
    • Vulvodynia & vestibulodynia
    • Treatments
    • MORE – you may want to check the Google Books link since it lists the table of contents.
  • These chapters are detailed & dedicated to each topic of interest. However,
    • The chapters are all short, just a few pages long.
  • The chapters all have a lot of footnotes & citations. I’m thinking if you wanted to get even more detail on a topic covered in a chapter, it might be worthwhile to investigate the sources cited.

So no judgements yet about how “Good” it is. I’m just excited about having it. I’ve got some high hopes – so let’s hope it does not disappoint. In any event, another refernece to add to my home library.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi, I just came upon your blog and wanted to let you know about my new book that came out at the end of May and actually includes a chapter about Chris Veasley of the NVA. “Secret Suffering: How Women’s Sexual & Pelvic Pain Affects Their Relationships” is a book written for patients, though my collaborator was a doctor. It sounds like a book you’d enjoy based on your interest in this subject. Among the reasons I think you’d find the book interesting is, to quote Jill Osborne, President of the Interstitial Cystitis Network, “‘Secret Suffering’ has it all. Patient stories, a husbands point of view, a same sex couples experience with pelvic pain, the dilemma confronting single women with chronic pain, faith and the poignant story of two men who experience sexual pain. They talk about the difficulties working with the medical community but the great hope promised by a new, far more accepting medical paradigm of chronic pelvic and sexual pain.” You can read more about the book here: http://www.secretsuffering.com/secret-suffering-book/. Please email me if you’d be interested in reviewing the book. Thanks! Susan Bilheimer

  2. […] within the last few years – but the text book he mentions, I think it’s out already. I have that book already. Maybe they filmed this segment a few months ago? What, is there another one coming out later […]


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

