Interesting posts, weekend of 11/20/10

11/20/2010 at 1:21 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Dear internet, well, I thought I was settling into a new routine… looks like I’ll be entering Phase 2 of general life crisis sooner than I thought. Oh well, it’s for the best but I guess I shouldn’t get too comfortable until it’s over! In other news, I went shopping the other day and I got some great deals on new clothes. I felt so shiny and pretty with fancy new threads to wear all week. It’s starting to get cold (and dark!) and I really need to catch up on my stretching exercises because my entire lower half is sore and tense once again.

Friendly reminder: I am looking for Guest Posters. I want to hear more perspectives on the themes dealt with here at Feminists with Female Sexual Dysfunction. Because I am dealing with such a sensitive topic, I don’t think I can actively recruit new posters, since if I went onto someone else’s blog and said something like, “Hey u wanna write a post about your sexual health and/or feminism on a public forum?!” that would probably be very invasive. For this reason, Guest Posters requesting to remain anonymous will also be taken seriously.
At this time, criteria for inclusion is, “If you think you would fit in here, you probably would.” This may be subject to change but for now we’ll try that & see how it goes.
In an attempt to preemptively fight spam and rude comments, this blog’s email is private. Please leave a comment on this post if you want to write something. I’ll screen comments so you can remain anonymous if you want. That way I’ll have your email and we can collaborate.
Have something you’ve been working on? Send it my way.
Comments made by new e-mail addresses here are auto-screened before going live, so if you want to stay anon use an e-mail address that you haven’t used here before.

Can’t get enough of feminism and sexual dysfunction on the internet? You may want to think about following the Twitter feed, which is more accurately described as my Twitter feed since no one else manages it. Some of my daily mundane and/or angry thoughts sneak in there but I try to include trendy topics as well as a healthy dose of sexual dysfunction related news when I find it.

Now then, on with the blog link roundup that’s starting to become an irregular feature around here. Posts I found interesting over the few weeks. Share links if’n you got’em.

Got some updates for you re: MTV’s True Life episode dealing with chronic pelvic pain! MTV: True Life: I can’t have sex is set to air on December 6, 2010. Get your DVRs and TiVos and VHS decks ready to record! I learned about this from Tamra in her entry, Namaste and from youtube user talithaketeri in her video: MTV True Life: Why I can’t have sex….why I decided to let them film me – She posted an update for what the filming process was like and what’s been going on since the original call for participants went out. Talithaketeri also has a blog of her own! Maybe you’d like to stop by The Rambling’s of an IC patient and say hello. [Note: I will make the effort to provide a transcript for talithaketeri's video within the next few days as general life crisis part 2 permits.]

Can’t wait for the MTV episode to come out? Here’s something to tide you over in the mean time. Esther had a heads up and then follow through on a different kind of coverage of dyspaerunia… Vulvodynia on 19 Action News: “Off Limits” was the heads up that a local (to her) news channel was going to be covering dyspaerunia… And then she reviewed the episode at Vulvodynia: Intercourse Impossible. Ugh what a miserable way to sensationalize sexual pain.
Want to see the media coverage for yourself? Go to Off Limits!: They won’t, don’t and can’t make love – Sex secrets of married couples and then at about the middle of the page click on the little box that says, “Video Gallery.” There’s another little box on the right side of the screen that will then load the video after a short commercial break. The video gets better (more serious) towards the middle and end but the introduction is like, just, what the hell. [This one I will probably not make a transcript for.]

Also in the mainstream news, here’s something a little older (late September) that I just found: Female Sexual Dysfunction — Medical Fiction? – Uuugh again sounds miserable, doesn’t it? And yeah it includes bits by so-called experts who question the very existence as such a thing as FSD, BUT and this is why I linked to it at all, it also includes other so-called experts who do not question the very real distress and difficulties that women with FSD may have to deal with. Be careful if slogging around the comments section! Some of them are okay but other user comments could be printed and packaged for use as an emetic.

Pudendal Nerve – Very detailed diagram (possibly NSFW) of the pudendal nerve and description of what pudendal nerve pain can feel like.

Using Cloth Pads - A review of cloth pads at the Down There v blog.

I’m coming, baby - Okay I am really confused now, are we supposed to be all raising fears and questions about whether or not advertisements for women’s sexual aids and remedies are allowed to go on TV and won’t that just brainwash women into thinking there’s something wrong with them or are we supposed to be asking why not have women’s sexual aid commercials on TV?

Sherri Williams plays by Alabama rules, opens sex toy drive-thru – One of the things I find interesting about this story is that, if I were to visit Alabama, I would – theoretically – be able to pass through without fear of being prosecuted – even if I were carrying around my bag’o’dilators. I still have the medical receipt for the heavy-duty set of dilators. They really are a medical necessity for me. (I hope to never have to test this legal application!)

Hollaback! Apps to the Rescue – What took you so long?! I’ve been waiting like 6 months for this app!

Prove the Point MORE[Trigger warning for violence] – Former officer Johannes Mehserle two years ago shot and killed an unarmed young black man, Oscar Grant, at a BART station in California. Mehserle went to trial for murder… and was given the lightest sentence. There were protests after the trial, where more illegal arrests and detentions were made. On TV the police said they were letting people leave but I saw on the Twitter people who were there, saying no they weren’t even allowed to leave.

Do you remember a couple of months ago I wrote an off-topic post about (the lack of) women in animation? Not just the lack of representation of women in animation; I am also disturbed by my own lack of knowledge about women involved in the production of animation. Seriously why can I name like 20 men in animation but only 3 women just off the top of my head. What. Anyway here’s a blog that I hope will continue to look at women in animation: ANIMadams: Pimping out Ladies of Animation.

Why I didn’t make an “It Gets Better” video – I will co-sign this. I was bullied. It got real ugly. I don’t like reading, talking, or writing about it. Short, terse sentences. Take the hint. But the It Gets Better Project is not about me. Because for however much I was bullied and accused of being gay (as though that were a bad thing,) I was and remain straight.

I am becoming increasingly disturbed the more I read about the TSA body-scan screening and pat-down procedures. There is a ton of backlash against it, rightly so, and around the blogs I’ve seen analysis of the backlash itself which is also worth considering. SunGold @ Kittywampus in particular has been bloggin’ up a storm about it.

Not With A Bang But A Whimper – One of the first tasks of the Republican-controlled House of Representatives post-election: Vote against equal pay for women. Unbelievable.

They Call it ‘Reverse Discrimination’ – About affirmative action. It is not what you may think it is.

A Rape Culture Twofer - [Trigger warning for rape] – Two stories about what happened to two different women when they went to law enforcement after being raped.

Cholera Outbreak Worsens in Haiti – The earthquake is over, but the effects remain. Haiti still needs support.

Transgender Day of Remembrance: Living with the threat - TDOR is November 20 – that’s today in the US – and it is a day to draw attention to the disproportionate number of people who are killed each year as a direct result of transphobia. This post in particular focuses on discrimination experienced by the blogger, Queen Emily, in Australia. To learn more about TDOR, go to International Transgender Day of Rememberance. Or, click around onto some feminist and social justice blogs from the side bar here, because some of them have posted entries about it.

Cosmocking: December ’10! Part One! and Cosmocking: December ’10! Part Two!: Your monthly dose of tearing up shitty advice found in Cosmopolitan magazine.

Also heads up, I’m not linking to any source for this but V bloggers, be aware: There is some kind of spambot or trollbot running around the internet targeting V blogs and leaving nasty comments on them. Please do not take such comments personally or seriously.

Finally, Privilege Denying Dude may have been one of the best internet feminist meme of 2010… until it was suspended for copyright infringement. On a stock photo?! Man that is such bullshit.
Okay so the deal with Privilege Denying Dude was that Diana took a photo of a smug looking white bro and used one of those dual-color backgrounds sometimes seen in simple macro memes. And whatever text you added was typical stuff that a privileged person might say when talking about about marginalized groups of people. Steamroller stuff. (Hint: See how Derailing for Dummies is a list of steps you can take to completely derail a conversation? Don’t actually do the stuff that’s on there!) And it was social commentary and a way to let off steam and it generated a lot of backlash, most of which just proved the point. Unfortunately the macro is now down and somebody is going around strictly enforcing the copyright so I probably can’t even post the PDD picture I made just for you dear readers. Fff…

I MADE A PICTURE WITH IT AND I PUT IT RIGHT HERE but apparently someone can’t let us have any fun so all I can do now is leave you with the image description still in tact… USE YOUR IMAGINATION! (Or as an alternative: Google Cache!]

[Image description that WOULD be applicable if there were still an image here! Grr. Picture this: The smug-looking privilege denying dude with text above his head that asks, "Female sexual dysfunction?" And below: "You've just never been with me, baby!"]

Uuuuugh uugh I feel dirty after posting that uugh ugh ugh I feel like I need to go wash my hands now or brush my teeth or something I cannot believe I just typed those words into the thing ew ew ew. This guy right here, that’s the guy. The guy who goes around in comment threads about FSD talking about how he is the cure for all your sexual problems. Even though he’s totally not. OMG I think his cousin, Partner-Blaming, even dropped in to the comments section at the ABC article I posted! The guy in the picture looks like my best friend from high school :/ Man that’s awkward. Wait, I wonder if my best friend from high school would be willing to pose for us for a replacement. Hmm. Probably not, eh.

I’m sure there’s more…

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for the link.
    Glad you’re feeling all spiffy in your new threads. :)

    • Haha thanks, it’s hard not to feel shiny & spiffy when what you’re wearing is ***glitter encrusted!***

  2. Dear Whomever,
    (I can’t find the name of who runs this blog)..
    I am so unbelievably thankful I found this blog. As a 21-year-old senior in college, a Women’s and Gender Studies minor/honor society secretary, and suffering from vaginismus, I still had no real support. This blog is seriously an insane relief for me- not that I want others to be suffering, but I KNEW I couldn’t be alone. My capstone for WGS is even on this subject !!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

