Interesting posts, weekend of 10/24/10

10/24/2010 at 10:08 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Dear internet, good news, everyone! I’m no longer in the middle of a major life crisis. I’m now on the tail end of it. I think the worst is over with. I’m starting to get back on my feet, and I’ve even had a little time and motivation to work on blogging. Now I have too many new drafts that I don’t know when I’ll get around to finishing. Things will never go back to the normal that I had just a few short weeks ago. But soon, I will settle into a new normal. Life will take on a new pace and I’ll be facing new challenges. I could talk about the true nature of this major life upheaval I just went through in more detail, but I don’t want to. Most importantly I am (and feel) much safer now than I did before. Less creature comforts is the tradeoff, but, oh well boo-hoo.

And then we get to do it all again in another few months…

Friendly reminder: I am looking for Guest Posters. Did you see the guest post by Clarisse this week?

I want to hear more perspectives on the themes dealt with here at Feminists with Female Sexual Dysfunction. Because I am dealing with such a sensitive topic, I don’t think I can actively recruit new posters, since if I went onto someone else’s blog and said something like, “Hey u wanna write a post about your sexual health and/or feminism on a public forum?!” that would probably be very invasive. For this reason, Guest Posters requesting to remain anonymous will also be taken seriously.
At this time, criteria for inclusion is, “If you think you would fit in here, you probably would.” This may be subject to change but for now we’ll try that & see how it goes.
In an attempt to preemptively fight spam and rude comments, this blog’s email is private. Please leave a comment on this post if you want to write something. I’ll screen comments so you can remain anonymous if you want. That way I’ll have your email and we can collaborate.
Have something you’ve been working on? Send it my way.
Comments made by new e-mail addresses here are auto-screened before going live, so if you want to stay anon use an e-mail address that you haven’t used here before.

Can’t get enough of feminism and sexual dysfunction on the internet? You may want to think about following the Twitter feed, which is more accurately described as my Twitter feed since no one else manages it. Some of my daily mundane and/or angry thoughts sneak in there but I try to include trendy topics as well as a healthy dose of sexual dysfunction related news when I find it.

Now then, on with the weekly blog link roundup. Posts I found interesting over the last week. Share links if’n you got’em.

I Haven’t Forgotten – A good message: “It is possible to enjoy life with vulvodynia and pudendal neuralgia.”

September 2010 - This is the comments posted at the F-Word UK blog, including comments to their September feature, Honeymoon Cystitis?

Female Sexual Pleasure Is Too Hot For TV – My, my, my what’s this… so it’s okay to advertise drugs for erectile dysfunction but not drugs (of questionable value, unfortunately… but eh, there is that Enzyte thing on TV too so…) for women’s arousal disorders. Mm-hmm. I see…

Love reduces pain? Anyone over 30 knows otherwise. – Don’t be fooled by a recent newsbyte (I saw it too) that said something about love being a natural painkiller.

Disability Blog Carnival: Identity – In all the chaos, did I ever get around to posting a link to Astrid’s blog carnival about Identity? Hmm, no I did not.
The sex education website Scarleteen is also hosting a blog carnival to raise funding. You reap the benefits of lots of posts about sexuality! List of contributors is over here.

Open Question: What Does “Sex Positive” Mean to You? - [NSFW] The truth is, I still don’t know. How do you be sex positive and yet have sexual dysfunction? Can you still be sex positive even when you are critical of some elements of sex positivity? When does that criticism cross the line from helpful to wolf-in-sheep’s-clothing sex negativity?

Fucking While Feminist: A Conversation, for Ladies and Selected Dudes! – I still don’t know exactly what fucking while feminist means either. It probably doesn’t help that I still don’t consider myself to have even fucked yet. You might like this set of lines though:

Feminism is like a lot of ideologies; inconvenient and sometimes hard to live up to. Of the many varieties of Feminist Guilt, the I Didn’t Have an Orgasm Correctly Guilt may be one of the more obnoxious. All of the clear boundaries and open communication and healthsome respect for your ladybusiness and the assorted business of others isn’t guaranteed to work, especially not if the fellow business-owners you’re engaging with don’t plan on bringing the same thing to the table. And sometimes, things just don’t work.

Sometimes shit just don’t work and even feminism can’t fix that.

Self control. - This post is giving me an idea for a future blog post possibly… something about control & women’s sexuality… you must take control of your sexuality, you must do this thing or not do the other thing to take control of it, you must give up control to orgasm hmm… Something’s going on wrt control…

There’s two pieces about sex after rape, so these two come with a Trigger Warning: Sex After Rape, about coming to terms after, and some Savage Advice from Dan Savage – yes the same Dan Savage behind the “It gets better” project. Working on a good project does not negate the bad.

Tea Party Racism – The NAACP accused the Tea Party broadly of racism. Now the NAACP can prove it. Connections between major Tea Party groups and openly racist individuals and groups have been documented. Racism isn’t something limited to the Tea Party though – here’s some more racism from the US political right wing: Florida immigration bill would exempt white immigrants. Wait, there’s more: “Nazi Re-enactment” [Anthony McCarthy] – Further evidence presented that there’s strong ties between the Tea Party and white supremacy. (And now I’m thinking to myself about a certain not-friend who likes to dress up and play military and is a member of the Tea Party…)

Also political, What we can afford – where the US government’s spending priorities are. And then there’s Anita Hill and Me: An Overshare – I was too young at the time to remember anything about the Clarence Thomas court confirmation hearings while they were going on. Thomas’ wife, last Saturday, she called Anita Hill and demanded that Hill apologize for making sexual harassment claims against Thomas – even though there’s plenty of evidence to support her accusations.

These are dark days to be a young queer person… I had it hard enough as it was with the bullies growing up hetero. Justice Virginia Phillips ordered a stop to DADT and for about a day, DADT was supposed to be unenforced. Lt. Dan Choi even went to re-enlist when it was looking like DADT would be suspended but then the US government ordered a halt to the Judge’s orders – in other words, DADT is still active and in force. The influence of homophobia is global - Ugandan hit list further confirms an age of rampant homophobia [Trigger warning]. Then you’ve got conservative writer writing fake articles about shit that didn’t really happen, apparently in order to sneer at queer youth who commit suicide! [Trigger warning:In Jesus’ Name, Amen.Wtf… and as though queer kids are mutually exclusive from Christianity. I think it’s worth noting that this guy also wrote a “Politically incorrect” book addressed to feminists and I’m reading the description and I’m like, Holy shit.

Sometimes even the queer community is rough on who falls under the LGBTQQIAA spectrum, Who’s Queer? I thought asexuality was queer.

Next batch of links is loosely themed around mental illness. Women as sociological ducks – I like it for this line,

But I’m also me, and me happens to have a history of depression, for whatever chemical and psychological and personal reasons, and I resent being painted as nothing more than the inevitable outcome of Several Millennia’s Oppression Of Women. My name is Hannah, I enjoy knitting and swimming and melted cheese, and I take medication to deal with an illness. I am more than just a symptom of social malaise.

Relatable to me because I have a history with depression (it’s not at the forefront of my life right now so I don’t talk about it much) and because I’ve seen this argument used in relation to sexual dysfunction. Like, having a sex problem & think you need medical help for it? No! You’re just a product of the patriarchy! Except for the dyspaerunia would follow me everywhere into every relationship because something’s going on with my biology inside of me.

Then I found this one via FWD so some of you may have seen it already: Psychiatry and the Media — a Strange and Strained Relationship, and I when I saw these lines I was like *GASP* you mean most of the time it’s NOT TRUE??? I NEVER WOULD HAVE GUESSED!!! (not.):

Recently I had a conversation with someone who had no idea what I do for a living. He explained to me how the doctors and drug companies have a good deal going. He was under the misleading belief that most psychiatrists get money from drug companies when they prescribe medication…the more they prescribe, the more money they make. I suspect many people share this erroneous belief. Not only would this be morally wrong, irresponsible, and reprehensible if it were true, most importantly for the majority of practitioners this is patently false!

Again relatable… why does that sound so familiar… I read the rest of the article too and I thought it was p good.

Let’s Bust Some Myths: Depressed People Are Always Sad or They’re Faking! - Depression takes many forms.

I’m sure there’s more…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

