Interesting posts, weekend of 8/15/10

08/15/2010 at 10:05 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Dear internet, I went shopping the other day but didn’t pick anything up. A lot of stuff was on sale but I couldn’t find something similar to what I was looking for and some of the shirts were too juvenile for me to wear – I couldn’t get away with wearing them to work. So I got a few more Kindle books instead, including Whipping Girl which I am looking forward to reading in the future. I watched Eagle Eye with the kid from Transformers in it. The movie is like a cross between National Treasure and 2001: A Space Odyssey. Not bad; mostly mindless action. I’m torn on whether or not to see Scott Pilgrim in theaters. I never read the graphic novels but on the other hand I did not read the graphic novel for Watchmen until earlier this year, but I still enjoyed the movie at the time. Oh also I finally got around to watching Wizards. If I could sum it up in one word, I would say it was “Choppy.” Some beautiful still images used story-book style, terrible sound quality and voice acting. But on the other hand, that movie is old now… so it was one of those early animations for adults… it would be a few more decades yet before The Simpsons would raise the bar for the genre in terms of writing. It’s like, I know what the film was trying to say but it had a hard time articulating itself.

Remember, I’ll probably be taking a break from posting new content this week. I’m beat and dealing with acute vulvar pain. It’s time for some self-care.

Here’s another entry in our possibly-continuing series of pictures of oddly-named foodstuffs to use as conversation pieces:

Twilight candy bar

[Description: A candy bar in a light purple wrapper that says "Twilight." There are some sparkle designs on the wrapper.]

Found in the natural/organics food section of a grocery store. At first I thought it was just a coincidence that it’s named a “Twilight” bar and that I first ran into it during the age of Twilight fandom. It’s supposed to be a more natural version of a Milky Way bar – chocolate covering nougat and caramel. Okay, milky way galaxy, twilight starry nights… I get it…
But then I looked closer at the wrapper and noticed some sparkly designs on it! Look at the left side of the wrapper – see that white star design thing? It’s a sparkle! Did you know you can just Eat Twilight? A perfect stocking stuffer or humorous gift for that Twilight fan in your life.
A taste test revealed that it tastes like a chewy candy bar… it’s not bad, and I can see myself craving that specific flavor again. But don’t expect it to be identical to a Milky Way.

Friendly reminder: I am looking for Guest Posters. I want to hear more perspectives on the themes dealt with here at Feminists with Female Sexual Dysfunction. Because I am dealing with such a sensitive topic, I don’t think I can actively recruit new posters, since if I went onto someone else’s blog and said something like, “Hey u wanna write a post about your sexual health and/or feminism on a public forum?!” that would probably be very invasive. For this reason, Guest Posters requesting to remain anonymous will also be taken seriously.
At this time, criteria for inclusion is, “If you think you would fit in here, you probably would.” This may be subject to change but for now we’ll try that & see how it goes.
In an attempt to preemptively fight spam and rude comments, this blog’s email is private. Please leave a comment on this post if you want to write something. I’ll screen comments so you can remain anonymous if you want. That way I’ll have your email and we can collaborate.
Have something you’ve been working on? Send it my way.
Comments made by new e-mail addresses here are auto-screened before going live, so if you want to stay anon use an e-mail address that you haven’t used here before.

Can’t get enough of feminism and sexual dysfunction on the internet? You may want to think about following the Twitter feed, which is more accurately described as my Twitter feed since no one else manages it. Some of my daily mundane and/or angry thoughts sneak in there but I try to include trendy topics as well as a healthy dose of sexual dysfunction related news when I find it.

Now then, on with the weekly blog link roundup. Posts I found interesting over the last week. Share links if’n you got’em.

Good Vibrations is running a whole four-part series which may be relevant to the interests of some readers here – It’s a series on sex and chronic pain. So far there are two entries so far: Good Vibrations House Calls: Chronic Pain and Sex, Part 1 (lots of book resources at the end here!) and Good Vibrations House Calls: Chronic Pain & Sex, part 2 (about orgasm, communication and sex drives.)

In addition, Good Vibrations has an entry about sexual side effects to prostate cancer treatments. Some Doctors Downplay Effects of Prostate Cancer Treatments – Bear in mind, it is possible to get vulvar cancer as well, and I need to do some research on non-genital cancer treatments and sexual side effects in women.

Mel Gibson Is More Than Just A Racist Fuckbag: Tapegate Revisited[Trigger warning] – While I knew that Gibson is a sexist, racist, anti-semetic asshole, I did not also know he was ableist. I am not surprised by his ablism but I am shocked by what disability he chose to single out, whether he knew that was what he was doing or not… Ouch. I don’t know whether Grigorieva has the disability in question but on a bigger scale I don’t think it really matters either.

The FDA has approved a new emergency contraceptive pill, Ella, that is effective for up to five days after unprotected PIV sex. This is an improvement over Plan B’s 72 hours. (Via Women’s Health News.)

Some political news:
Former Alaskan Senator Ted “[The internet is] a series of tubes!” Stevens was among the five people who died in a plane crash this week.
Proposition 8 was struck down in California, and same sex couples can resume marrying later this week, barring more activity in the appeals court. Now conservative folks are racing to defend their heterosexism by talking about what traditional marriage really means and how and why it’s supposedly good for women:

Marriage is a necessary defense of a woman’s sexuality and her human liberty from determined assault by men who would turn her into a slave, a concubine – something less than fully human. Human communities need to give women some additional degree of protection – through law, custom, religious decree, or sacrament – generally some combination of all three, neatly summarized by the plaintiffs, who demanded the sacred and the eternal from the state of California.

Buhhhhh *mind boggles*
Yeah about that… how’s that working out for us then? Not so good, I’d say. Plus, um slaves and concubines are human too you know… Yeah don’t mention the economic benefits het couples receive now or the thing where it makes it so the male partner has a pretty good idea that all the kids in the house are really spawned from his loins or whatever. And yeah hey don’t mention that marital rape is a real thing or anything. Ff…

But what’s more, there’s history conservatives are overlooking… and that includes history overlooked even in Judge Walker’s decision. Why Marriage Equality Needs a Jaded View of History
Plus, overlooking a history of the United States and equal rights: Equal Protection of the Laws.
Here’s a picture of a chart and graph about same sex marriage that kind of looks like a dick: Resistance is Futile.
Meanwhile, in New York City, debate still rages about a proposed Muslim community center to be build nearby ground zero. This is but the latest in a long history of religious oppression in the US. It’s Good To Remember Our History
GOP Candidate Calls for Internment Camps for Undocumented Immigrants – This has been done before… did you forget about that?
The New York Times: America Goes Dark - The US power grid is under strain…

The Carnival of Kinky Feminists has posted Carnival Number Two: Experience. This post over at FWD would have fit right in! My Experiences with Disability & The Kink Community – these posts may be pushing the limit of work-safety even though there’s no pictures of naked people.

Little Women: Early puberty and what it means for girls – Young girls are showing signs of puberty earlier these days… could there be something in the water? Obesity? Hormones? Chemicals in all the plastic containers we eat and drink food out of?

Since Dr. Laura Can’t Give Advice To Black People Without Being A Racist Twit, We’ll Give It A Shot – So a woman of color called in to Dr. Laura for some relationship advice and Dr. Laura went off on this racist tirade. That’s not advice!

Old Spice Guy + FEMINIST HULK + Judith Butler – This is literally only funny if you know all three of the players in this script. But if you do know them all then oh my god I’m dyin’ laughin’ here.

I know there’s more…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

