Interesting posts, belated weekend of 2/28/10

03/01/2010 at 10:48 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

Dear internet, I’ve had a lot of pent up energy all week, I guess from being cooped up so long. Snowdump 2k10 continues and when it continues I’m stuck in place until I can get un-buried.

Perhaps as a result of being stuck in place too many times this winter, I’ve been in the mood to do something active and/or creative – preferably both. I got some clothes shopping done over the weekend, so that addresses my need for walk-around activity.  That leaves doing something creative… yes I realize that blogging is creative but I need to do something with my hands that lets me totally space out. I’ve got some clay in the closet I feel like breaking out… a box of multi-colored Sculpey & two bags of white stuff that is fun to paint when it dries. I’ve got some oil pastels in there too… a lot of people don’t like oil pastels, I’ve never understood the hate for them. (Note: I am not artistic & am bad at sculpting things, especially compared to my family & friends. But I don’t care :) No one’s gonna see what I make anyway…)

What this means for the blog: Since I’ve got this creative monkey on my back, I will either be skipping an original content post this week, or else I will be posting something that is still ~somewhat relevant to feminism but has absolutely nothing to do with female sexual dysfunction. Something nice & fluffy. Because believe it or not, I have interests outside of vagina politics too. I need to get my hands dirty, then I’ll get back on track with hard stuff. Procrastination can be fun!

Friendly reminder: I am looking for Guest Posters. I want to hear more perspectives on the themes dealt with here at Feminists with Female Sexual Dysfunction. Because I am dealing with such a sensitive topic, I don’t think I can actively recruit new posters, since if I went onto someone else’s blog and said something like, “Hey u wanna write a post about your sexual health and/or feminism on a public forum?!” that would probably be very invasive. For this reason, Guest Posters requesting to remain anonymous will also be taken seriously.
At this time, criteria for inclusion is, “If you think you would fit in here, you probably would.” This may be subject to change but for now we’ll try that & see how it goes.
In an attempt to preemptively fight spam and rude comments, this blog’s email is private. Please leave a comment on this post if you want to write something. I’ll screen comments so you can remain anonymous if you want. That way I’ll have your email and we can collaborate.
Have something you’ve been working on? Send it my way.
Comments made by new e-mail addresses here are auto-screened before going live, so if you want to stay anon use an e-mail address that you haven’t used here before.

Now then, on with the weekly blog link roundup. Posts I found interesting for one reason or another over the last week. Share links if’n you got’em.

First, a few older links I forgot to post at the time because I left them on the mobile device.

Adam’s Family Jewels - So it turns out that Eve wasn’t made from Adam’s bone… She was made from Adam’s boner. And other bible debauchery.

This one has nothing to do with feminism, but I enjoyed the analysis. Rowling’s being sued for plagarism again.

Okay there’s the old ones. Here’s the new stuff.

There was a magnitude 8.8 earthquake in Chile, and as of now the death toll is above 700 people killed. Chilean Earthquake News and Relief Info – they could use some help too.

There was a disability carnival roundup hosted by disability community @ Dreamwidth. The theme was relationships.

There was more followup to the Amanda Palmer/Evelyn Evelyn performance art controversy; several additional links have been rounded up by the Linkspam community, also @ Dreamwidth. So here’s two more blog link roundups for you: #5 and #6. Use caution as you work through the links there, they’ve been labeled as having potential problems where applicable.

Angie the Anti-Theist went public on the internet with her decision to get an abortion, and its progress. She’s gotten sooooo much flak for it it’s genuinely frightening. Like, seriously I wish her all the best because I would not want to touch all the e-mails I’m sure she’s gotten. “I’m doing this to demystify abortion.” from Shakesville. Live Tweeting Abortion from Feministe. Friday genius ten “Dropping Truth Bombs” edition from Pandagon. Also,  How effective is fact bombing? Dropping in on #livetweetingabortion on Twitter.

Also depressing and related to reproductive justice: Fetuses First - a pregnant woman needs chemotherapy to treat her cancer, but cannot receive it, due to her pregnancy. There’s also a very comprehensive Reproductive Justice Linkspam from Alas! A Blog.

The perfect trifecta. And by “perfect”, I mean… – Absolutely disgusting comments by US republican Bob Marshall. Wow, that’s wrong on like 18 different levels. An analysis of the many different layers of wrong was put together by Shark-Fu. Notes from a bitch…reflecting on the “punishment from God” claim… Static Nonsense (via FWD) also wrote, A Punishment – I am not.

Big Bipartisan Healthcare Review – Delivers what it promises – a review of that big Healthcare meeting from last week. It didn’t go over well. Jeanne also watched an wrote an analysis, Health Reform And Gender Discrimination.

Johnny Weir Responds to Gender-Conformity Police - Johnny Weir is an Olympic skater who, among other things, designs his own flamboyant costumes, skates to pop music, and in doing so reveals folks who are insecure with themselves.He (and other commenters) responds to bigoted comments. See also: In praise of Johnny Weir

Misreading Lolita – the Roman Polanski child rape scandal continues, with broad implications. From the post:

These events had me thinking of a longstanding complaint of mine about (of all things) a book. “Lolita” has become a byword for the idea that some little girls can quite ethically be the target of sexual advances by adults because their essential nature is one of “promiscuity” and they are therefore unrapeable. This is ironic in a particularly sickening way, because Nabokov’s novel is about the monstrous connections that may exist between acts of genius, or creations or experiences of sublime beauty, and the infliction of cruelty.

Hymenology 101: A Guest Post by Commenter Pedimd – Everything you ever wanted to know about hymens. Somewhat irrelvant to me now though, as I no longer have a hymen following vulvovaginal surgery.

The Body Scoop for Girls: A Straight-Talk Guide to a Healthy, Beautiful You - Interesting because the author of this book is Jennifer Ashton, who appeared on the vulvodynia themed segment of Dr. Oz earlier this year.

Your Friendly Womb Police in Utah – This is a real law that could make miscarriage illegal.

“A Culture of Indifference”: Report on Campus Sexual Assault Reveals Inaction Taken by Schools, Education Department – [Trigger warning] – a study on sexual assault on campuses – the perpetrators are rarely punished and when they are the punishments are  minor.

How *not* to write about sex addiction – you know, I’d really like to read and talk about sex addiction, I know it’s controversial but it would fit right in here. But it’s soooo controversial to the point where you can’t talk about it. Case in point.

Oh Canada, How Dare They?!? (WTF edition) – Best person for the job talks about the Canadian women’s hockey team partying down after winning the gold.

Me and My Vagina: Special Anniversary Edition – I Fucking Wish I felt this comfortable talking in public about having had vulvovaginal surgery… I fucking wish. How are you doing that? Why can’t I do that? Oh right, I can’t talk about it because
I haven’t been able to reconcile the fact that I’ve had a vestibulectomy and lived to tell the tale with the fact that in general, when talking about vulvovaginal surgery or less invasive kinds of genital modification, even temporary ones, it is bad, bad, bad. On blog posts, there’s heavy focus on cosmetic surgery and aggressive shaming women who go under the knife – or wax or makeup or skin decorations. That’s what it sounds like to me. So I haven’t reached the point yet where I feel like it’s safe for me to talk in detail about having actually lived through it, even though mine was for medical reasons. And at this rate, I may never feel comfortable enough to talk about it outside of support groups. I’d want to, I think. But I don’t feel welcome. I read those feminist posts, and I feel like a freak.

I’m sure there’s more…

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey, thank you for the link to my post!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

