Interesting posts, weekend of 2/14/10

02/14/2010 at 5:52 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Dear internet, another less than stellar week. Snowdump 2k10 continues and I’m on shovel duty. I missed another 2 days of work trying to dig my way out from the snow piles. And it’s too cold, wet & unpleasant to build snow monsters out there! (I don’t build snowmen anymore, I build snow monsters.) On the other hand, it’s Valentine’s Day – which for me is great, but for others, it’s an annoying holiday. I’m very impressed with the gift my boyfriend got me this year – I thought we agreed to a $40 maximum this year! He went overboard!

Friendly reminder: I am looking for Guest Posters. We will be taking a short break from our continuing coverage of Sex is not a Natural Act in order to showcase a guest post later this week. I want to hear more perspectives on the themes dealt with here at Feminists with Female Sexual Dysfunction. Because I am dealing with such a sensitive topic, I don’t think I can actively recruit new posters, since if I went onto someone else’s blog and said something like, “Hey u wanna write a post about your sexual health and/or feminism on a public forum?!” that would probably be very invasive. For this reason, Guest Posters requesting to remain anonymous will also be taken seriously.
At this time, criteria for inclusion is, “If you think you would fit in here, you probably would.” This may be subject to change but for now we’ll try that & see how it goes.
In an attempt to preemptively fight spam and rude comments, this blog’s email is private. Please leave a comment on this post if you want to write something. I’ll screen comments so you can remain anonymous if you want. That way I’ll have your email and we can collaborate.
Have something you’ve been working on? Send it my way.
Comments made by new e-mail addresses here are auto-screened before going live, so if you want to stay anon use an e-mail address that you haven’t used here before.

Now then, on with the weekly blog link roundup. Posts I found interesting for one reason or another over the last week. Share links if’n you got’em.

It’s not too late to take advantage of Valentine’s Day ideas! Two from Violet Blue, both [NSFW]sex and romance HOWto’s + hot destinations and happy Valentine’s Day: two free erotic e-books and audio books!

Violet Blue also posted this [NSFW] series of  sex education videos over a week ago, I missed putting it up with the last roundup: sex education in media: my January class

Tell Congress About Your Interstitial Cystitis – The deadline on this one has passed, but it may still be of interest to IC patients, and includes Jeanne’s letter to congress. On a related note, (Via My Autoimmune Life) New Clinical Trial For IC Patients with Vulvodynia PatientsThis one is explicitly for patients with both vulvodynia and IC, two conditions that sometimes overlap.
Also related, some of my readers here have endometriosis, and so here is another one from Jeanne about Endometriosis Advocacy and the Media.
There’s more health-related blog posts this week, including Ms. M on Living With Chronic Illness, a Guest Post – about living with chronic conditions while feminist.
And also, Voices of the Uninsured – a much-needed reminder that health care in the US is still a crisis situation.

This one could be important to your online safety: Buzz off: Disabling Google Buzz - Google automatically enrolled gmail users into the Buzz program. This links you with former contacts and if you’ve got your real name anywhere in your profile, those contacts can see it. See also Who you speak to and where you are: why it matters

On identifying identities – I thoroughly enjoyed this post by Chally, which looks at gatekeepers to identity, particularly in terms of youth. Relevant to my interests as someone who’s deliberately choosing to embrace FSD as a part of my own identity since I keep running into people who think they know what women with FSD are like without having experienced it themselves:

I want to talk about the ways in which identities are denied…

It takes some kind of extraordinary arrogance to declare an identity for someone else. This is an attitude that says, ‘My perceptions are more important than your lived experience.’ ‘My comfort in my ability to correctly assess people overrides the truth.’ It is extraordinary what lengths humans will go to in order to make the world in line with their screwy ideas about the people in it. As for ‘the truth,’ that’s the thing. The truth is that someone’s identity is whatever they hold it to be. Asserting your idea of what a person is over theirs says that it’s okay for everyone to weigh in on and locate and decide it as an objective truth. And almost inevitably it’s an “impartial” outside observer who has the right idea, and they locate the truth of someone’s identity quite outside the grasp of the individual concerned. There is no good reason why your ideas about what a person is like, or what people with an identity are like, should trump the experience and history and, you know, understanding of their own being, of the person with said identity, no reason at all. Forcing your ideas about what a person is onto them is presumptuous and bizarre; how on earth do you think you know better about a person and their life than they do?

Yep. Of course this applies to many marginalized groups & bodies.

On a possibly related note, we also have, What Is ‘splainin’? And Why Should I Care? – I’ve seen “Mansplaining” used around the blogosphere a lot in recent weeks, but there’s more than one way to be a ‘splainer. This so far is one of the best definitions of ‘splainin’ I’ve seen. Do you know any ‘splainers in your life? My dad, for example, is definitely a mansplainer! A very quick guideline (You’ll want to check the rest of the post for more) is that,

In a nutshell, ’splainin’ is an “explanation” which is put forward in the most patronizing way possible. The ’splainer feels passionately that ou opinion and beliefs outweigh actual lived experience and wishes to inform everyone of this fact. ’splainers are unfortunately especially common in safe spaces in which the voices of people living in marginalized bodies are centered, because such spaces are threatening to people who find our voices contrary to their worldviews.

Assvertising – an in-depth analysis of a shitty sexist ad.
What We Learned from the SuperBowl Ads – I missed the SuperBowl completely, was totally uninterested. So I missed the commercials, but the Harpies summarize them for me – and they’re on YouTube anyway.
Possibly related due to its look at bad ads – and countering them: Charging Hard against Dodge’s Dude-ism

There’s nothing in the world that’s not the fault of bitches – Mostly I like the snarky title on this post; the content isn’t as great, but if you’re interested it’s about the religious right getting cheezed off about women using birth control.
There’s also an example of being a bitch (in the best sense of the word!) Be A Bitch: To the New York Times Public Editor[Potentially triggering] calling out the NYT coverage of Roman Polanski. Yes the Roman Polanski rape scandal is still going on.

Couldn’t Remember Where I Heard It…… Just a quick note – Yeah I never liked Catcher in the Rye either.

Getting it right: Sexual Violence Prevention in media. – This links to triggering material but I think the post itself is worthwhile, it talks about differences between getting a sexual violence prevention ad done right vs. doin’ it wrong.

Cosmocking: March ’10! – The monthly breakdown of Cosmopolitan’s strange sex & relationship advice.

[Greta Christina] Sex and the Off-Label Use of Our Bodies – a nice counter to authority figures who try to tell you what your body is really meant to do and it only serves that one purpose. No you can use the body in different, creative ways.

Vegetative States and Terrifying Implications - after reading this, I talked to my own partner about what we want to do if one of us finds the other in a vegetative state. Or rather, I tried to talk to him about it; he didn’t want to talk about it at that time (I don’t blame him.) This post is about “locked-in syndrome,” which is where although a person appears to be in a vegetative state & unresponsive, they are still aware of what’s going on around them – if you can just give them the tools to communicate.

Victory for Sex Positivity in Rhode Island - after much wrangling, the Center for Sex Positivity, a non-profit sexuality resource center, opened up in Rhode Island, making it the first of its kind on the East Coast (I think there’s a similiar not the same organization in Seattle.)

I’m sure there’s more…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

